Praise Him in the Storm

Last night I struggled with what to blog about this week. You see, this has been a very trying week and I didn’t want to write a negative post.

It has been raining at my house for 500 days. (I may be rounding up.) We have been flooded in our neighborhood twice in the past two months. Two days ago my dad was taken by ambulance to the emergency room for respiratory problems and today will be my fourth trip to the hospital to see him.

So you can see my delima… What positivity do I have to share?

And then I got over myself. I realized that I am missing a great opportunity to match my walk with my talk, to praise Him in these storms, both literal and figurative. To look for the blessings among the thorns.

Throughout all this rain and flooding we have kept electricity, while friends have gone days waiting for theirs to come back on. While our neighborhood flooded, our home stayed dry. And while my dad may be in the hospital, he is going to be okay and is improving a little more every day.

And I can think of one more thing for which to be grateful: this blog. Because it made me ask the question. What positivity do I have to share?

It’s a question we should all ask ourselves when storms arise.

 

As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord. – Joshua 24:15

One thought on “Praise Him in the Storm

Leave a comment