Sunday Muse: Gypsy Bird

I crawled out of my cage and stretched until I stood tall.
And it occurred to me that it had no lock.
I was free to roam wherever I want. No longer tethered.
The rain felt colder and wetter, soothing me, watering me like a seed.
I picked up my cage and began to walk.
And it occurred to me that it was not heavy, as I had expected, but as light as the feathers it perhaps once held.
I wandered aimlessly hoping to find a target, a direction that made sense.
I tired.
And it occurred to me that I could find rest inside my cage.
I crawled inside, bending and twisting until I fit.
Perfectly comfortable in its familiarity.
And it occurred to me that perhaps it wasn’t a cage at all.
Or perhaps I had become complacent in it’s capture.

13 thoughts on “Sunday Muse: Gypsy Bird

  1. I love the message in this and the way this progresses to it’s closing. The questions add even more power to the poem. I absolutely love this Amber! A beautiful and wise poem indeed! I do hope you will join us again sometime soon!!

    Like

  2. This is a very interesting contemplation, especially the trying to fit oneself inside the cage which I am sure many of us have experienced at one time or another.

    Like

  3. Carrie shared this and i am happy she did. This is beautiful, very philosophical and a strong end Nothing wrong with being complacent especially when the cage has no lock

    Like

Leave a comment