Toddler Antics

My youngest, whom we affectionately call Tater Tot, is a year and a half old. She’s sweet and adorable and has definitely entered her “terrible twos.”

Let me stop here to stay that I don’t think “terrible twos” is an appropriately coined term, for two reasons; the first is that no child (or entire year) is terrible. The second is that this phase clearly starts before the age of two.

Tater Tot is really a good hearted playful toddler. She loves other babies, adores our pet chueenie and is truly my little cuddle buddy during her down time. She’s smart and enjoys playing with her picture flashcards and story books.  She’s also curious and adventurous and sometimes that can lead to… well, keys thrown in the diaper pail and lost remotes that never get found and toilet paper everywhere. She loves to test her boundaries and often teaches us about the inadequacy of our baby-proofing attempts.

She likes to keep me on my toes, just in case the older three kids aren’t doing a good enough job. But as a mom, this is what I live for. While the older kids are at school this is what breaks up the mundane diaper changes, highchair messes, and piles of laundry. So I choose to see the positive  (and the humor) in her daily antics. I welcome the challenge.

2 thoughts on “Toddler Antics

  1. I love your positive attitude with the your beautiful challenge! Some people do get discouraged with this age and the tough challenges that can arise. A good perspective to it can make all the difference, and I also believe that your nurturing spirit makes the lifestyle of parenting many and a little one something you are wonderful at. I absolutely love the pic you took! It is perfect!

    Like

Leave a comment